## **February 1, 2022**

**Memorandum to:** Directors of Education

Secretary/Treasurers of School Authorities

From: Nancy Naylor

**Deputy Minister** 

Subject: Consent at School Vaccination Clinics

Thank you for your ongoing partnership and continued efforts to date in supporting vaccination efforts for children and youth.

While individuals aged 12 years and older have higher rates of vaccination, the government, in partnership with the Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health is working to increase vaccination rates for children ages 5-11 on a voluntary basis to further protect against COVID-19 and variants. To date, 18.6% of children 5-11 years of age have been vaccinated with first and second doses.

To support greater uptake of vaccination for this population, school boards are to continue working with local public health units (PHU) to host voluntary school-based vaccination clinics that are targeted towards this population. Further to the memo sent out on January 21<sup>st</sup>, all school boards/schools must send consent forms in email and paper copy to all students aged 5 – 11 years, and to ensure that principals collect the consent forms in order to measure their school community's interest in school day clinics.

All school boards are expected to distribute consent forms by February 3<sup>rd</sup> and should communicate the need for forms to be returned as early as February 8<sup>th</sup>. As additional forms are returned past this date school boards should continue to share them with their local PHU. By February 4<sup>th</sup>, school boards should confirm with their regional office that consents have been sent out and the total number of returned consents confirming interest in school-based vaccination should be reported to the regional office by February 9<sup>th</sup>. The Ministry will reach out to school boards and PHUs to ensure that this has been completed in a timely manner to ensure that this vaccination option is available to families that express interest.

Thank you again for your ongoing partnership as we work to support vaccination efforts and keep our schools safe and open to in-person learning.

Sincerely,

Nancy Naylor Deputy Minister c: Executive Director, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)

Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

General Secretary, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

General Secretary, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

General Secretary, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

Chair, Ontario Council of Educational Workers (OCEW)

Chair, Education Workers' Alliance of Ontario (EWAO)

Co-ordinator, Canadian Union of Public Employees – Ontario (CUPE-ON)

Executive Director, Association des directions et directions adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)

Executive Director, Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO)

Executive Director, Ontario Principals' Council (OPC)