







February 10, 2017

Honourable Mitzie Hunter, Minister of Education 22nd Floor, Mowat Block 900 Bay Street Toronto ON M7A 1L2

Dear Minister Hunter:

Thank you for providing the opportunity to provide input during the third round of consultation on the *School Board Collective Bargaining Act*. While we appreciate the opportunity to provide input, we would be remiss if we did not express our significant disappointment with respect to a number of issues which we understand will not be tabled for amendment.

Notably, during each of the subsequent consultations all four Trustee/School Board Associations articulated their firm commitment to sequenced bargaining. It was our shared understanding that the Crown also saw value in such an amendment, as a manner by which to provide greater stability within the sector. It is regrettable that such an amendment, which we firmly believe to be in the best interests of students, is no longer being considered by the Crown.

Secondly, we are concerned that the proposed amendments do not reflect the ability to decrease the number of central bargaining tables. Moreover, as proposed, the amendments could, at some point, result in greater, not fewer central bargaining tables.

Finally, we continue to express our deep concern with respect to the Crown's unwillingness to address the possibility of continuous sanctions within the sector simultaneously at both the central and local level. This concern is now further exacerbated given the proposed amendments to the structure of the Act which would allow for the possibility of collective agreements expiring at different times. Accordingly, the education sector could find itself in a state of perpetual sanction. We firmly believe that this is not in the best interest of students and has the real possibility of eroding public confidence in the publically funded education system.

We appreciate the opportunity to provide input on this important initiative. We hope that the Crown will reconsider its position on the areas articulated herein.

Yours truly,

Denis Chartrand, President, ACÉPO

Patrick Daly, Acesident, OCSTA

Laurie French, President, OPSBA

Jean LeMay, President, AFOCSC

CC: Bruce Rodrigues, Ministry of Education Andrew Davis, Ministry of Education Brian Blakeley, Ministry of Education